Little Dragon Announce “New Me, Same Us”, shares lead single ‘Hold On’; new album out March 27th on Ninja Tune

unnamed - 2020-01-30T000412.606.jpg
Artwork by Johannes Nyholm

The four-piece Swedish band Little Dragon announced a return with their new studio album, “New Me, Same Us” out March 27th via Ninja Tune.   According to the press release, “New Me, Same Us” represents another chapter in the continuing evolution of Little Dragon (fronted by vocalist Yukimi Nagano, with Håkan Wirenstarnd and Fredrik Wallin on keyboards and bass and Erik Bodin on drums and percussion), finding new direction in their unique style of unhurried, off-kilter r’n’b, pop and electronics, they sound as rejuvenated and energized as ever.

“This album has been the most collaborative for us yet.” they explain, “which might sound weird considering we’ve been making music together for all these years, but we worked hard at being honest, finding the courage to let go of our egos and be pieces of something bigger.” The record also finds them in a reflective mood, Yukimi’s distinctive vocals musing on transitions, longing, and saying goodbye. “We are all on our own personal journeys,” they say, “full of change, yet still we stand united with stories we believe in, that make us who we are.”

The first single, ‘Hold On’—available today—is a message about breaking away and moving on. “it started out as a slik house track” explain the band, “but transformed once Fred played the base through it and we all worked it together. It became something raw and soulful. It’s a simple groove that makes us dance. We can’t wait to play it live because once we play it live it most certainly will change again”

Watch the video from the single ‘Hold On’ below.

includes contribution shared by press release, plus multiple sources